David and Goliath

I awaken at night – this is an example of a giant.

I fight. Is it might? I think I’m defiant.

I come as Goliath, with heavy words as lead,

and empty breaths, light and lithe, and lives to spare.

 

I tread on a tightrope – this is an example of me.

I grope on it. Do I hope? I never thought to flee.

I come as the Story unfolds, with sounds tapping,

and sudden hints, coy and witty, and wonder to share.

 

I pause in line – this is an example of a shepherd.

Somewhere I incline. Do I lie? My intention is weathered.

I come as David, with a feather of a pen,

and a power masked, intently and cunning, and the loyalty of a slave.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

